Being intentional in 2017.

 

c7d60aab1963a3f211331eb4b54e4a40

life / 3 min read

 

Welcome to the year 2017! It’s been five days since we broke up with 2016, and as I embark on another journey I can’t help but reflect on the past year. I remember late June feeling like my world had come to an end. I’d quit a well-paid internship because I wasn’t fulfilled in the work I was doing and decided to enroll into school for a different career path. I was tired and exasperated, constantly asking God, where did I go wrong? It wasn’t until a good friend of mine said something to me during a casual car ride, after noticing how my recent struggles had affected my usually bubbly personality, that changed the course of my mentality, he said:

“Life isn’t a race, once you discover what you’re passionate about everything will work out fine.” 

Looking back on the last 365 days from start to finish, 2016 was the year of new beginnings. Most days I had a blast! I parted ways with old friends and gained new lifelong ones, made effortless memories I’ll never forget, had taken my first girls trip, got on a boat, revived my faith and relationship with Jesus, danced the night away at two different concerts, visited my first art exhibition, moved into my first apartment, learned many new recipes, tested my mental capabilities, and most importantly cultivated deep-rooted confidence in myself.

Of course, there were hard times and moments when I’d question the path I had taken, academically and socially, but grateful doesn’t begin to describe how thankful I am for the support system and influence that God has blessed with me. Every day I am able to personally interact with souls who are: CEOs of their own Startups, working for big-name companies, living out their passions in journalism and technology, starting new lives as husband and wife, finishing PhDs in medicine, and reaching their full potential as children of God. So as I take my first steps into this year I will carry this quote by Marianne Williamson, to help me maintain my stride intentionally and confidentially.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not darkness that most frighten us…

We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be? 

You are a child of God.”

       I also pray that I (and you as well) live on to practice humility, patience, and love in everything we do. That we see opportunity instead of obligation in every situation. That we find our paths and follow them without fear or worry. And most of all we remember that we hold the true power to make our lives as beautiful as we want.

 

Cheers to the year of intention. Cheers to 2017!

 

xo, Mariea B.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

